In the “ASK YOUNG STAGE” section, we answer all questions that reach us via our social media platforms once a month. All questions and answers are published here on an ongoing basis.

In which year did YOUNG STAGE take place for the first time?
In 2007 was the first festival. Then there was a two-year break – we had to set it up more professionally with all the experiences from the first year. Then from 2010 the festival took place every year until 2020, when it had to be cancelled due to the Corona pandemic.

What is YOUNG STAGE’s greatest vision?
Our original vision of becoming one of the most important circus festivals in the world has already come true to a large extent. However, we also have big plans to open a Circus Center in Basel and there our goal is to be one of the most important international centers for contemporary circus and to be the hub of the circus scene in Switzerland. We want to live and love circus, promote it, educate it professionally and let it flourish in various forms.

Up to what age can I apply as an artist?
The maximum age is 27 years during the festival. For duos or groups, the average age counts. This rule is strictly adhered to in order to have a fair criteria that applies to everyone. Downwards there is no fixed minimum age limit. However, we take great care to ensure that no children are invited who are not yet capable of performing independently as professional artists.

How many applicants does YONG STAGE get each year and how many acts are finally in the show?
In the last few years, around 400 – 450 performances with a total of around 600 artists from 60 nations have applied. In the competition show, 13 – 15 acts with about 30 artists perform. Fortunately, thanks to the open-air circus spectacle in the city of Basel, which has existed since 2018, we can invite many more artists. In 2019, there were over 100 artists from 20 nations.

What are the criteria according to which the acts are selected?
The artistic level of each discipline counts as the basis. The level of the performance must be very high. But then we also pay attention to the innovative content of the act, the story and idea behind it and, in any case, how the whole thing is presented, what happens between the artist and the audience. Does the artist touch the people, does a kind of “chemistry” develop between the audience and the stage, do you get goose bumps, are you “gripped” from the first second, do you smile, are you surprised? And in the end, authenticity of the whole also counts. Does the artist show us who he/she is?

How did the festival choose their participants even before the internet was so present?
We remember that very well, when piles of DVD’s arrived and we all unpacked them. The people at the post office always knew that YOUNG STAGE was again in the artist application phase – they would then laughingly give us a whole mail cart, which we drove across the street to the office.

Have you ever regretted choosing an artist for the festival?
No, never! All the artists who have performed with us deserve the space and the platform.

Up to what age can artists basically perform?
That varies greatly depending on the discipline. Someone who works acrobatically at a very high level is more likely to reach their physical limits over time than a clown or juggler.

Do you also plan to produce shows? Like the Festival Mondial du Cirque de Demain from Paris did every two years in Montréal?
Currently we are not planning any shows in other countries. But we are constantly working on expanding the festival and have plans to open a Circus Center in Basel, where many different shows will definitely take place. And we have been booking artists for many years for various shows in Switzerland and are quite often also more involved in the production and direction of these shows.

How did you build up your network or how do you manage to have so many bookers and producers coming to the festival?
That is the result of years of building up. Our team travels a lot in Europe, we visit festivals, circus schools and shows, network, take part in panel discussions and trade fairs and much more. That’s how we keep getting to know a lot of exciting people from the industry. And what’s more, word of what happens in Basel gets around very quickly in the international scene – and that has a corresponding effect. And last but not least, producers and bookers are actively looking for talent platforms and festivals to see the latest trends and also to expand their network.

Can you live only from the ticket revenues of the shows?
Absolutely NO! We have a lot of loyal sponsors, are supported by foundations and patrons and also by the Swisslos funds of the two cantons Basel-Stadt and Basel-Land. Without this support – and without many voluntary extra hours that our team puts in – YOUNG STAGE would not exist.

Why are there less shows planned in November 2021 than usual?
There are not less shows planned. We plan with exactly the same number of shows. But the open-air shows will not behappening 2021. November is definitely no longer open-air season and we believe that an event with around 20,000 spectators will not be possible in 2021.

Why does YOUNG STAGE change the location?
There are several reasons. The main reason is that the Rosentalanlage in Basel will no longer be available for Circus guest performances in the medium term and we can use the time gained by Corona for a move, and thus proactively avoid the problem.

When will the application deadline be for the 2022 festival?
It will be mid-February 2022, as it was in all the years before the Corona pandemic.

Where will the festival take place in November 2021?
YOUNG STAGE will take place in the event hall of Messe Basel, which was built especially for big events and shows. We will build a real circus setting in the hall with a big grandstand and a round stage to create an optimal circus atmosphere.

Will we see an offline festival in 2021?
Oh yes, we believe in it very much! The prospects for November are very good from a current perspective, and we are doing everything we can to ensure that YOUNG STAGE will take place offline in November, with real live performances and lots of goosebumps moments.

When will the participating artists be published?
It will be at the end of August / beginning of September. Due to the Corona Pandemic there are many uncertainties, postponements, travel restrictions and much more for the artists as well. Therefore, we will wait until after the summer vacations and only then announce who will be with us.

In der Rubrik „ASK YOUNG STAGE“ beantworten wir einmal monatlich alle Fragen, die uns über unsere Social Media Plattformen erreichen. Alle Fragen und Antworten werden hier laufend veröffentlicht.

In welchem Jahr fand YOUNG STAGE zum ersten Mal statt?
Im Jahr 2007 war das erste Festival. Dann gab es zwei Jahre Pause – wir mussten über die Bücher und das Ganze besser aufstellen. Ab 2010 hat das Festival dann jedes Jahr stattgefunden bis 2020, als es aufgrund der Corona Pandemie abgesagt werden musste.

Was ist die größte Vision von YOUNG STAGE?
Unsere ursprüngliche Vision, eines der bedeutendsten Circusfestivals der Welt zu werden, ist bereits zu einem grossen Teil in Erfüllung gegangen. Wir haben jedoch auch grosse Pläne, in Basel ein Circus Center zu eröffnen und da ist unser Ziel, zu den international wichtigsten Zentren für zeitgenössischen Circus zu gehören und Dreh- und Angelpunkt der Circusszene in der Schweiz zu sein. Wir möchten den Circus leben und lieben, ihn fördern, ihn professionell ausbilden und in verschiedensten Formen gedeihen lassen.

Bis zu welchem Alter kann man sich als Artist bewerben?
Das maximale Alter ist 27 Jahre während des Festivals. Bei Duo’s oder Gruppen zählt das Durchschnittsalter. Diese Regelung wird strikt eingehalten, damit man ein faires Kriterium hat, das für alle gilt. Nach unten gibt es keine fixe Altersmindestgrenze. Wir achten jedoch sehr darauf, dass keine Kinder bei uns auftreten, die noch nicht selbständig als Berufsartist unterwegs sein können.

Wie viele Bewerber bekommt YOUNG STAGE jedes Jahr und wie viele Acts sind letztendlich in der Show?
In den letzten Jahren haben sich jeweils rund 400 – 450 Darbietungen mit insgesamt rund 600 Artistinnen und Artisten aus 60 Nationen beworben. In der Wettbewerbs-Show treten dann jeweils 13 – 15 Darbietungen mit rund 30 ArtistInnen auf. Dank dem Open-Air Circus-Spektakel in der Stadt Basel, welches es seit 2018 gibt, können wir zum Glück viele weitere Artistinnen und Artisten einladen. 2019 waren über 100 Artistinnen und Artisten aus 20 Nationen dabei.

Was sind die Kriterien nach denen die Acts ausgewählt werden?
Als Basis zählt das artistische Niveau der jeweiligen Disziplin. Das Level der Darbietung muss sehr hoch sein. Dann achten wir aber auch auf den Innovationsgehalt des Acts, die Story und Idee dahinter und auf jeden Fall auch darauf, wie das Ganze präsentiert wird, was zwischen dem Künstler und dem Publikum passiert. Berührt der Artist die Menschen, entsteht eine Art «Chemie» zwischen dem Saal und der Bühne, bekommt man Gänsehaut, wird man von der ersten Sekunde an «gepackt», schmunzelt man, wird man überrascht? Und am Ende zählt auch Authentizität des Ganzen. Zeigt uns die Artistin/der Artist wer er/sie ist?

Wie haben Festivals ihre Teilnehmer ausgewählt noch bevor das Internet so präsent war?
Daran erinnern wir uns sehr gut  da kamen stapelweise Pakete an mit DVD’s, die wir dann alle ausgepackt haben. Die Beamten der Post wussten jeweils, dass YOUNG STAGE wieder in der Artistenbewerbungsphase ist – sie haben uns dann jeweils lachen einen ganzen Postwagen mitgegeben, den wir über die Strasse ins Büro gefahren haben.

Habt Ihr jemals bereut einen Artisten ausgewählt zu haben für das Festival?
Nein, noch gar nie! Alle Artisten, die bei uns aufgetreten sind, haben den Platz und die Plattform verdient.

Bis zu welchem Alter können Artisten grundsätzlich auftreten?
Das ist je nach Disziplin ganz unterschiedlich. Jemand, der auf sehr hohem Niveau akrobatisch arbeitet, kommt mit der Zeit eher an seinen physischen Limiten als ein Clown oder Jongleur.

Plant ihr auch, Shows zu produzieren? So wie es zB. das Festival Mondial du Cirque de Demain aus Paris alle zwei Jahre in Montréal gemacht hat?
Aktuell planen wir keine Shows in andern Ländern. Aber wir sind stetig daran, das Festival auszubauen und haben Pläne, ein Circus Center in Basel zu eröffnen, wo dann ganz sicher viele verschiedene Shows stattfinden werden. Und wir vermitteln und buchen seit vielen Jahren immer wieder Artistinnen und Artisten für die verschiedensten Shows in der Schweiz und sind da und dort auch stärker in deren Showproduktion und Regie involviert.

Wie habt ihr euer Netzwerk aufgebaut resp. wie schafft ihr es, dass immer soviele Booker und Produzenten ans Festival kommen?
Das ist das Ergebnis von jahrelanger Aufbauarbeit. Unser Team ist sehr viel unterwegs in Europa, wir besuchen Festivals, Circusschulen und Shows, vernetzen uns, nehmen an Podiumsdiskussionen und Fachmessen teil und vieles mehr. So lernt man immer wieder viele spannende Menschen aus der Branche kennen. Und zudem spricht sich das, was in Basel passiert, sehr schnell rum in internationalen Szene – und das hat einen entsprechenden Effekt. Und nicht zuletzt sind Produzenten und Booker ja aktiv auf der Suche nach Talentplattformen und Festivals, um die neusten Trends zu sehen und auch ihr Netzwerk weiter auszubauen.

Könnt ihr nur von den Ticketeinnahmen der Shows leben?
Ganz klar NEIN! Wir haben sehr viele treue Sponsoren, werden von Stiftungen und Gönnern und auch von den Swisslos-Fonds der beiden Kantone Basel-Stadt und Basel-Land unterstützt. Ohne diese Unterstützung – und ohne viele freiwillige Zusatzstunden, die unser Team leistet – würde es YOUNG STAGE nicht geben.

Warum werden im November 2021 weniger Shows gespielt als üblich?
Es sind nicht weniger Shows. Es sind genau gleich viele. Aber die Open-Air Shows fallen leider ganz weg. Im November ist definitiv nicht mehr Open-Air Saison und wir sind der Meinung, dass ein Event mit rund 20’000 Zuschauern im 2021 noch nicht möglich sein wird.

Warum wechselt YOUNG STAGE die Location?
Es gibt mehrere Gründe dafür. Der Hauptgrund ist, dass die Rosentalanlage in Basel mittelfristig nicht mehr für Circus Gastspiele zur Verfügung stehen wird und wir die durch Corona gewonnene Zeit für einen Umzug nutzen, und dem Problem so proaktiv aus dem Weg gehen können.

Wann wir der Bewerbungsschlus sein für das Festival 2022?
Das wird Mitte Februar 2022 sein, so wie in all den Jahren vor der Corona Pandemie auch.