The Shows

YOUNG STAGE unites the world’s elite of young circus artists, who present their great skills to an enthusiastic audience in a versatile, spectacular and emotional stage show. In a targeted selection process, hundreds of applications are sorted each year in order to finally invite the most talented and innovative artists to Basel. Every year in May, six breathtaking shows take place in the Event Hall of Messe Basel. Tickets are available from December!

The Competition

The festival is a competition and as well as a platform where young professional artists can present their work in a contemporary circus field. There are six public shows every year in  Basel. An international jury team consisting of experts coming from the fields of circus, show, TV and professional sports assesses the young artists. At the gala show the artists have the chance to win various awards and engagements in circus- & show productions in Switzerland and Europe. There are hundreds of artist applications each year. Many international showproducers, directors, agents and bookers travel to Basel, to discover new talents at the YOUNG STAGE festival.

Networking Events

There are several networking events each year such as panel discussions, business workshops, and the highly appreciated circus-speed-dating, where artists, bookers and producers have the chance to meet. These events are all freely accessible for all, who are in any kind involved in circus and show business.

Open Air Circus Spectacle

A spectacular event for everyone. Since 2018 there is a freely accessible open-air spectacle downtown Basel to develop and support young, creative circus and to offer a platform for artists. Noumerous circus companies from Switzerland and abroad perform on several open-air stages. Moreover, kids have the chance to try out different circus disciplines for free.

Die Shows

YOUNG STAGE vereint die Weltelite der jungen Circus Künstlerinnen und Künstler, welche in einer vielseitigen, spektakulären und emotionalen Bühnenshow ihr grosses Können dem begeisternden Publikum präsentieren. In einem gezielten Auswahlverfahren werden jährlich hunderte von Bewerbungen gesichtet und sortiert, um am Schluss die talentiertesten und innovativsten Artistinnen und Artisten nach Basel einzuladen. Jeweils im Mai finden sechs abwechslungsreiche und atemberaubende Shows in der Event Halle der Messe Basel statt. Tickets gibt es ab Dezember!

Der Artisten-Wettbewerb

Das Festival ist gleichermassen Wettbewerb und Jobbörse für die weltbesten jungen Profiartisten im Bereich des zeitgenössischen Circus. Während den sechs öffentlichen Shows, beurteilt eine international besetzte Expertenjury die jungen Künstler, und anlässlich der Galavorstellung werden zahlreiche Preise und Engagements vergeben. Jährlich bewerben sich mehrere hundert Artisten um eine Teilnahme am Festival. International tätige Showproduzenten, Agenten und Booker reisen nach Basel ans Rheinknie, um bei YOUNG STAGE neue Talente zu entdecken.

Professional Session & Circus Speed Dating

Es ist uns ein grosses Anliegen, das Netzwerk in der nationalen und internationalen Circus- und Showszene zu fördern, neue Kontakte zu ermöglichen und neue Ideen entstehen zu lassen. Deshalb veranstalten wir jedes Jahr die PROFESSIONAL SESSION und das traditionelle  „CIRCUS-SPEED-DATING“. Dazu sind Artisten, Künstler, Produzenten, Booker, Regisseure und generell Circusliebhaber herzlich eingeladen.

Open-Air Circus-Spektakel

Ein Riesenspektakel für Gross und Klein. Um den jungen, innovativen und kreativen Circus bestmöglich zu fördern und ihm eine unkomplizierte Plattform zu bieten, findet seit 2018 auch ein frei zugängliches Open-Air Circus-Spektakel in der Basler Innenstadt statt. Auf verschiedenen Open-Air-Bühnen treten zahlreiche Circuscompanien aus dem In- und Ausland auf. Zudem können Kinder kostenlos verschiedene Circusdisziplinen ausprobieren.