211108_YS21_9907

Lets talk! The Workshops & Professional Events

The mission or goal of YOUNG STAGE is, among other things, to impart knowledge to young artists, to show them different aspects of being a professional artist, to prepare them for the free market, to encourage them to think and to provide them with professional advice. In addition, many direct contacts with bookers, directors and other professionals in the scene should be made at the festival itself, so that everyone goes home with a backpack full of new input, suggestions and contacts.

Participation in the workshops is free of charge!
All workshops are open to performing arts practitioners free of charge. What is discussed in the workshops does not only apply to performers in the circus scene. The topics are just as relevant for other performing arts disciplines such as dancers, musicians, actors, etc. producers, directors and bookers are also very welcome. Let’s talk!

THE PROGRAMM IN AN OVERVIEW:

Friday, 3 May 2024 | 11.30 – 13.00 h & 14.00 – 15.30 h
Workshops for Artists & Professionals

  • 11.30 h Workshop «Had I known – Management for your rockstar career»  – READ MORE
  • 14.00 h Workshop «How and why create something outstanding?» – READ MORE

Saturday, 4 May 2024 | 11.30 – 13.00 h
Workshop «Changing perspectives – Insights into the work of a producer»
READ MORE

Monday, 6 May 2024 | 14.00 – 16.30 h
«Professional Session» & «Circus speed Dating» – READ MORE

  • 14.00 – 15.00 h Panel Discussion: «How can traditional and contemporary circus inspire eachother?»
  • 15.15 – 16.00 h Circus Speed Dating (guided Networking Event for all)
  • 16.00 – 16.30h Coffee & Cake

Details to the Workshops

Friday 3 May 2024 11.30 – 13.00 h
Workshop «Had I known – Management for your Rockstar Career»

Workshop Lead:  Andréanne Quintal (Canada), Artist, Producer

In this workshop, Andréanne will show you concrete tools to turn artists into entrepreneurs. How do you sell yourself? How do you get hired again and why don’t you get hired? How much are you worth? How do you achieve goals you never thought possible? Topics will be addressed that will help you become a master of the industry and understand the reality of the market. Afterwards, workshop participants will be equipped with important tools to successfully master professional challenges.

BACK TO OVERVIEW

Friday 3 May 2024 14.00 – 15.30 h
Workshop «How and why create something outstanding?»

Workshop Lead: Urs Jäckle, artistic Director Krystallpalast Varieté Leipzig

In a sea of artists you have to stand out. With unique work you create your own personal brand, get more jobs – and can make a good living from it. But how do you create something new? What is your favorite approach and how can you make your creation more marketable? How did the circus legends of the past do it? Why do you choose one type of music and not another? How do you deal with feedback? At the end of the workshop you will leave with a number of concrete techniques and a lot of inspiration. If you want to work professionally in the performance arena, you shouldn’t miss this rare opportunity for creative exchange on a high level.

BACK TO OVERVIEW

Saturday 4 Mai 2024 11.30 – 13.00 Uhr
«Changing perspectives – Insights into the work of a showproducer.»

Workshop Lead: Nadja Berger, Festivaldirector, Showproducer

Is a project/show still art if it works commercially and the artists can earn money with it? What do you understand by the terms commerce and culture, are the two terms actually opposites? Do you create your art just for yourself or for an audience and who is your audience? What does it mean to create AND produce a show yourself? What do you have to consider?

Sometimes it’s good to change your perspective in order to fully understand a business or an industry. This workshop is about shedding light on the most important aspects of show production and looking at things from a different angle for once. It is about risks, the importance of sponsoring and fundraising, the relevance of communication and storytelling and much more.

BACK TO OVERVIEW

Monday 6 May 2024 14.00 – 16.30 h
Professional Session & Circus Speed Dating

Panel discussion to the topic  «How can traditional and contemporary circus inspire each other?»

The following questions will be discussed, among others.
Are there already traditions in the new circus? What are the characteristics of traditional and new circus? Can the traditional circus be an art and the new circus a business? How can the two inspire each other? Why is «showing skills» no longer a trend in the new circus?

The Talk will be hosted by Urs Jäckle, Artistic Director of Krystallpalast Varieté Leipzig. The talk guests will be announced soon.

The following people will take part in the panel discussion:
Urs Pilz, Artistic Director of the International Circus Festival Monte-Carlo
Anna Geering, Head of Performing Arts, Film & Media Arts, Cultural Promotion Canton Basel-Landschaft
Adrian Porter, Head of Higher Education at the National Centre for Circus Arts, London
Louis Bourgaut, casting director at “The Seven Fingers”
Diana Salles, artist, activist, creator, dancer and Award-winning Performer. Co-author of the Fringe awarded solo show «DELUSIONAL – I killed a man».

Circus Speed Dating
Our speed dating is an easy way for artists, producers, bookers and other professionals to get to know each other and network.

BACK TO OVERVIEW

211108_YS21_9907

Lets talk! Die Workshops & Professional Events

Der Auftrag resp. das Ziel von YOUNG STAGE ist es u.a., jungen Künstler:innen Wissen zu vermitteln, ihnen verschiedene Aspekte des Berufsdaseins als Künstler:innen aufzuzeigen, sie auf den freien Markt vorzubereiten, sie zum Denken anzuregen und fachlich zu beraten. Zudem sollen am Festival selbst viele direkte Kontakte zu Booker:innen, Regiseur:innen und anderen Professionals der Szene geknüpft werden können, sodass alle mit einem Rucksack voller neuer Inputs, Anregungen und Kontakte nach Hause reisen.

Die Teilnahme an den Workshops ist kostenlos!
Alle Workshops sind kostenlos zugänglich für Akteur:innen im Bereich der Performing Arts. Das, was an den Workshops besprochen wird, gilt nicht nur für Akteur:innen der Circusszene. Die Themen sind genau so relevant für andere Sparten der Performing Arts wie Tänzer:Innen, Musiker:innen, Schauspieler:innen etc. Auch Produzent:innen, Regisseur:innen, Booker:innen sind herzlich willkommen. Let’s talk!

Programmübersicht

Freitag, 3. Mai 2024 | 11.30 – 13.00 Uhr & 14.00 – 15.30 Uhr
Workshops for Artists & Professionals

  • 11.30 Uhr Workshop «Had I known – Management for your rockstar career»  – MEHR DAZU
  • 14.00 Uhr Workshop «How and why create something outstanding?» – MEHR DAZU

Samstag, 4. Mai 2024 | 11.30 – 13.00 Uhr
Workshop «Changing perspectives – Insights into the work of a producer»
MEHR DAZU

Montag, 6. Mai 2024 | 14.00 – 16.30 Uhr
«Professional Session» mit Podiumsdiskussion und «Circus speed Dating» – MEHR DAZU

  • 14.00 – 15.00 Uhr Podiumsdiskussion:
    «How can traditional and contemporary circus inspire eachother?»
  • 15.15 – 16.00 Uhr Circus Speed Dating (geführter Networking Anlass für alle)
  • 16.00 – 16.30h Kaffee & Kuchen

Details zu den Workshops

Freitag, 3. Mai 2024 11.30 – 13.00 Uhr
Workshop «Had I known – Management for your Rockstar Career»

Workshopleitung:  Andréanne Quintal (Canada), Artistin, Produzentin

In diesem Workshop zeigt Andréanne konkrete Werkzeuge auf, um Artist:innen zu Unternehmer:innen zu machen. Wie verkauft man sich? Wie wird man wieder engagiert und warum wird man nicht engagiert? Wieviel ist man wert? Wie erreicht man Ziele, die man nie für möglich gehalten hätte? Es werden Themen angesprochen, die helfen, Meister der Branche zu werden und die Realität des Markteszu verstehen. Danach werden die Workshopteilnehmer:innen mit wichtigen Werkzeugen ausgestattet sein, um berufliche Herausforderungen erfolgreich zu meistern.

ZURÜCK ZUR ÜBERSICHT

Freitag, 3. Mai 2024 14.00 – 15.30 Uhr
Workshop «How and why create something outstanding?»

Workshopleitung: Urs Jäckle, Künstlerischer Leiter Krystallpalast Varieté Leipzig

In einem Meer von Künstler:innen muss man herausstechen. Mit einzigartigen Arbeiten schafft man sich eine eigene Marke, bekommt mehr Aufträge – und kann gut davon leben. Aber wie schafft man etwas Neues? Was ist euer bevorzugter Ansatz und wie könnt Ihr Eure Kreation marktfähiger machen? Wie haben es die Zirkuslegenden der Vergangenheit gemacht? Warum wählt man eine bestimmte Art von Musik und nicht eine andere? Wie geht Ihr mit Feedback um? Am Ende des Workshops werdet Ihr mit einer Reihe konkreter Techniken und einer Menge Inspiration nach Hause gehen. Wenn Ihr professionell in der Performancebranche arbeiten wollt, solltet Ihr Euch diese seltene Gelegenheit zum kreativen Austausch auf hohem Niveau nicht entgehen lassen.

ZURÜCK ZUR ÜBERSICHT

Samstag, 4. Mai 2024 11.30 – 13.00 Uhr
«Changing perspectives – Insights into the work of a showproducer.»

Workshopleitung: Nadja Berger, Festivaldirektorin, Showproduzentin

Ist ein Projekt/eine Show noch Kunst wenn es/sie kommerziell funktioniert und sich die Künstler:innen einen Lohn bezahlen können? Was versteht Ihr unter den Begriffen Kommerz und Kultur resp. sind die beiden Begriffe eigentlich Gegensätze? Kreiert Ihr Eure Kunst nur für Euch oder für ein Publikum und wer ist denn eigentlich Euer Publikum? Was bedeutet es, selbst eine Show zu kreieren UND zu produzieren? Was muss man dabei bedenken?

Manchmal ist es gut, die Perspektive zu wechseln, um ein Business resp. eine Branche vollumfänglich zu verstehen. In diesem Workshop geht es darum, die wichtigsten Aspekte der Showproduktion zu beleuchten und für einmal die Dinge aus einem andern Blickwinkel zu betrachten. Es geht um Risiken, die Bedeutung von Sponsoring und Fundraising, um die Relevanz der Kommunikation und des Storytelling und vieles mehr.

ZURÜCK ZUR ÜBERSICHT

Montag, 6. Mai 2024 14.00 – 16.30 Uhr
Professional Session & Circus Speed Dating

Podiumsdiskussion zum Thema «Wie können sich der traditionelle und der zeitgenössische Circus gegenseitig inspirieren?”

Folgende Fragen werden unter anderem diskutiert.
Gibt es im neuen Circus auch bereits Traditionen? Welches sind eigentlich  die Merkmale von traditionellem und neuem Circus? Kann der traditionelle Circus eine Kunst und der neue Circus ein Geschäft sein?  Wie können sich beide gegenseitig inspirieren? Warum ist «Skills zeigen» im neuen Circus eigentlich nicht mehr im Trend?

Die Professional Session wird moderiert von Urs Jäckle, Künstlerischer Leiter Krystallpalast Varieté Leipzig.

Folgende Personen werden an der Podiumsdiskussion teilnehmen:

Urs Pilz, Artistischer Direktor des Internationalen Circus Festivals Monte-Carlo
Anna Geering, Fachverantwortliche Darstellende Künste, Film & Medienkunst, Kulturförderung Kanton Basel-Landschaft
Adrian Porter, Leiter der Hochschulausbildung am National Centre for Circus Arts, London
Louis Bourgaut, Casting Direktor bei «The Seven Fingers»
Diana Salles, Artistin, Aktivistin, Creatorin, Tänzerin und Award-winning Performerin. Co-Authorin der Fringe Awarded Solo Show «DELUSIONAL – I killed a man».

Circus Speed Dating
Beim Speed Dating lernen sich Artist:innen, Produzenten, Bookerinnen und weitere Professionals unkompliziert kennen und können sich vernetzen.

ZURÜCK ZUR ÜBERSICHT