THE JURY 2024

Every year, the 7-9-member festival jury consists of internationally active experts from the fields of circus, show production, dance and top-class sports. All the jury members 2024 aill be published here step by step.

Sandra Wawer

Sandra Wawer

Artistic Director @ GOP Varieté, Germany

When Sandra Wawer interrupted her studies of industrial education and psychology in 2001 to go to Disneyland Paris for a year abroad, she did not realize how much this decision would influence the rest of her life. From then on, the world of entertainment would not let her go and she missed the magic of the stage until she decided to train as an event manager at the GOP Varieté Theatre in Hanover in 2007. At the side of the artistic director, she remained loyal to the company and was allowed to follow in his footsteps in 2022. Now, as artistic director, she will be responsible for the 25 different show productions each year and, together with the GOP showconcept team, will bring them to the stages of the seven GOP Varieté theatres and to various guest venues.

www.variete.de

URS PILZ-2023

Urs Pilz

Artistic Director @ International Circus Festival, Monte Carlo

After school in Schaffhausen and Zurich, Urs Pilz went to England, Italy and Sweden for further training in the textile and fashion industry. Urs’ family has been connected to the Knie family for 4 generations. Thus, the circus has always played an important role. Through his professional activity in Munich, a friendly relationship and cooperation with Circus Krone developed. This led to the first contacts with the Circus Festival in Monte-Carlo and Prince Rainier, the founder of the festival, in 1975.

The first task was the coordination of the jury and the “circensic” information of the prince about the international circus events. Later, the responsibility for the selection of artists was added and, since 2005, the overall management of the Circus Festival of Monte-Carlo in collaboration with Princess Stephanie of Monaco. At the same time, further tasks in the field of circus arose, namely the presidency of the European Circus Association, ECA, and that of the Circus World Federation, Fédération Mondiale du Cirque!

 www.montecarlofestival.mc

Nadja_sieger

NADJA SIEGER

Actress, singer, dancer, presenter, voice actor, writer, director

But above all Nadja is «Nadeschkin» – the female half of the clown duo Ursus & Nadeschkin. In this constellation Nadja is known in the German-speaking theatre and comedy scene for nearly 30 years and she is very popular: as well as in performances, playwriting or in connection with projects in which she sometimes takes the role of the presenter or producer.

Nadja developed her talent and her skills in autodidact in over 3,000 performances. She lived in London, New York, Berlin, Melbourne, Sydney and she also spent one season at the Swiss National Circus Knie. The rest of the time she was and is on tour or at home, at the edge of her hometown Zurich.

www.ursusnadeschkin.ch

Louis Bourgaut

Louis Bougaut

Head of Casting @ 7 Fingers

Born in 1994 in Paris into a family deeply involved in the arts and culture scene in France, Louis Bourgaut immersed himself in the captivating world of music and performing arts from a very young age. His artistic journey was ignited after being dazzled by the performance of “TRACES” by the 7 Fingers, an experience that prompted his decision to delve into the circus arts. Louis began his training at the National Circus School in Châtellerault, completing his education at the Quebec Circus School in 2016, specializing in the demanding disciplines of hoopdiving and dance trapeze. In 2019, he joined the 7 Fingers team, and currently holds the posittion of Head ofCasting, leveraging his passion for discovering and nurturing new talents. His trajectory not only reflects his dedication to the circus arts but also underscores his commitment to promoting and nurturing emerging talents within this captivating artistic discipline.

www.7fingers.com

Irina Naumenko, Young Stage Jury 2024

Irina Naumenko

Casting Advisor @Cirque du Soleil & Artist

Irina has been working in the entertainment industry as an acrobatic stage performer for over 25 years. Over the course of that time, she had the pleasure of collaborating with a wide variety of circus and entertainment companies. For nearly 16 years, she has been working as a solo hand balancer/contortionist and a lead character in different Cirque du Soleil productions (Varekai 2003-2011, Joya 2014-2016, and various special events). Over the course of her career as a performer, Irina also enjoyed working on numerous creations of all shapes and sizes in different parts of the world. She had had the privilege not only to work as a performer but also to collaborate as a consultant/adviser or sometimes offer expert feedback “from the outside” to deepen the performance perspective on some of those projects.

After a successful career as a circus performer, Irina transitioned to the role of an advisor in the casting department of Cirque Du Soleil. Entertainment, particularly circus arts, will always have a special place in her heart. This is something she knows very intimately. Having a profound knowledge of the business, the creative process, and acrobatic performance allows her to have an in-depth perspective, appreciation, and understanding of the hard work of circus performers.

www.cirquedusoleil.com

Adrian porter Headshot

Adrian Porter

Head of Higher Education @ National Centre for Circus Arts, London
Managing Board member FEDEC

Adrian is currently the Head of Higher Education at the National Centre for Circus Arts in London. He is a former national squad gymnast who has been teaching circus for over 25 years. He teaches floor-based and aerial disciplines, specializing in hand to hand, Russian swing, Chinese pole and Icarian Games. He oversaw acrobatic development of artists for the Millennium Dome Show London, and went on to co-write the first iteration of the Foundation degree program at the National Centre.

As a circus performer, he has shown versatility as a trampolinist at the Royal Festival Hall; troupe Maison acrobat in several UK corporate shows; and several projects as an aerialist, notably John-Paul Zaccarini’s Hyperactive. Adrian has toured with Cirque du Soleil as head coach, as well as acting as choreographer/dramaturge. His freelance work includes collaborations with the all-female troupe Mimbre, the youth circus program at the Roundhouse London and the 2012 Paralympics closing ceremony.

Adrian holds the position of Board member with FEDEC and Jacksons Lane Theatre in London. He has a passion for the development of the next generation of circus practitioners.

www.nationalcircus.org.uk

www.fedec.eu

Diana Salles, Young Stage Jury 2024

Diana Salles

Artist, dancer

Born in São Paulo, Brazil in 1996. She had her first contact with art through dance and theatre, but soon she discovered circus and quickly developed a passion that would lead her to choose it as her career. A circus artist, contemporary dancer, activist, and a proud trans woman. She graduated from the Superior School of Circus Arts (ESAC) in Brussels in 2018 specializing in aerials.

In 2019 she was awarded the bronze medal and the prestigious “Prix de la Ville de Paris” at the 40th Festival Mondial du Cirque de Demain in Paris, the silver medal and the Audience’s prize at the Iberoamerican Circus Festival (FIRCO), establishing herself as a prominent figure and creator in contemporary circus.

After working with several renowned circus companies and a diverse range of creatives in Europe, Diana started to dedicate her work to the transformative power of connection on stage. Her solo show, DELUSIONAL earned her the International Bursary Award from the Fringe Amsterdam Festival, being acclaimed as a touching and relevant piece for the times we live in. Diana Salles embodies a vibrant force in the circus arts, thought-provoking, breaking boundaries with skill, passion, and truth.

https://www.dianasalles.com/

Foto Ian Jenkins

Ian Jenkins

Casting Director & Project Development – Europa Park Germany
Creative Director Blue Banana Entertainment, Germany

Twice World Professional Pair Skating Champion and Former Olympic competitor. Ian has used his 25 years of experience as an artist to create more than 60 shows with varying styles for Europa Park. Ian has worked for 9 years as Europa Park’s ‘Director of Entertainment’, and starts now the new Europa Park challenge to be part of the opening team of MACK ONE FRANCE, situated in France, but only 30 minutes from Europa Park.  Ian now shares his time between the French creative offices and creating and directing shows for Europa Park and other shows around the world as part of the Blue Banana Entertainment portfolio. The Young-Stage festival has provided a valuable platform for many superb artists to show their ability to combine artistry with creativity and physical excellence, and with more than 30 artists having gone on to show their talents at Europa Park, Ian will be again looking to make sure this year is no exception.

www.europapark.de

www.bluebananae.com

DIE JURY 2024

Die 7–9-köpfige Festivaljury besteht jedes Jahr aus international tätigen Expertinnen und Experten aus den Bereichen Circus, Showproduktion, Tanz und Spitzensport. Die Jurymitglieder 2024 werden hier nach und nach veröffentlicht.

Sandra Wawer

Sandra Wawer

Künstlerische Direktorin @ GOP Varieté, Deutschland

Als Sandra Wawer im Jahr 2001 ihr Studium der Betriebspädagogik und Psychologie unterbrach um für ein Auslandsjahr nach Disneyland Paris zu gehen, war ihr nicht klar, wie sehr diese Entscheidung ihr weiteres Leben beeinflussen würde. Die Welt des Entertainments liess sie fortan nicht mehr los und der Zauber der Bühne fehlte ihr, bis sie sich 2007 entschied, eine Ausbildung zur Veranstaltungskauffrau im GOP Varieté-Theater Hannover zu machen. An der Seite des künstlerischen Direktors blieb sie dem Unternehmen treu und durfte 2022 in seine Fußstapfen treten. Nun wird sie als künstlerische Direktorin die jährlich 25 unterschiedlichen Showproduktionen verantworten und mit dem GOP showconcept Team auf die Bühnen der sieben GOP Varieté-Theater und an verschiedenste Gastspielorte zu bringen.

www.variete.de

URS PILZ-2023

Urs Pilz

Artistischer Direktor @ Internationales Circus Festival, Monte Carlo

Nach der Schulzeit in Schaffhausen und Zürich erfolgten Ausbildungs- und Studien-Aufenthalte in England, Italien und Schweden zur Weiterbildung in der Textil- und Modebranche. Die Familie von Urs ist schon seit 4 Generationen mit der Familie Knie verbunden. Somit hat der Circus immer eine wichtige Rolle gespielt. Durch die berufliche Tätigkeit in München hat sich eine freundschaftliche Bande und Zusammenarbeit mit Circus Krone ergeben.

Daraus entstanden ab 1975 die ersten Kontakte zum Circus Festival in Monte-Carlo und zu Fürst Rainier, dem Gründer des Festivals. Die erste Aufgabe war die Koordination der Jury und die „circensische“ Information des Fürsten über das internationale Circus Geschehen. Später kam die Verantwortung für die Artisten-Auswahl dazu und seit 2005 die Gesamtleitung des Circus Festivals von Monte-Carlo in Zusammenarbeit mit Prinzessin Stephanie von Monaco. Parallel dazu ergaben sich weitere Aufgaben im Bereich Circus, nämlich die Präsidentschaft des Europäischen Circus-Verbandes ECA, und diejenige des Circus-Welt-Verbandes, Fédération Mondiale du Cirque!

www.montecarlofestival.mc

Nadja_sieger

Nadja Sieger

Schauspielerin, Sängerin, Tänzerin, Moderatorin, Synchronsprecherin, Autorin, Regisseurin

Aber vor allem ist Nadja «Nadeschkin» – die weibliche Hälfte des Clownduos Ursus & Nadeschkin. In dieser Zweierkonstellation ist sie in der deutschsprachigen Theater- und Comedyszene seit fast 30 Jahren bekannt und viel beschäftigt: Sei es mit Auftritten, Stückeschreiben oder im Zusammenhang mit Projekten, bei denen sie gerne auch mal in die Rolle der Moderatorin oder Produzentin schlüpft.

Ihr Talent und Können entwickelte Nadja Sieger als Autodidaktin in über 3000 Vorstellungen. Sie lebte in London, New York, Berlin, Melbourne, Sydney und ausserdem eine Saison lang beim Schweizer Nationalzirkus Knie. Die übrige Zeit war und ist sie on Tour oder daheim, am Rand ihrer Heimatstadt Zürich.

www.ursusnadeschkin.ch

Louis Bourgaut

Louis Bourgaut

Head of Casting @ 7 Fingers

Louis Bourgaut wurde 1994 in eine Familie der Kunst- und Kulturszene in Paris hineingeboren. Bereits in jungen Jahren taucht Louis in die faszinierende Welt der Musik und der darstellenden Künste ein. Seine künstlerische Reise begann, nachdem er die Aufführung “TRACES” von den 7 Fingers besucht. Für ihn ein Erlebnis, das ihn zu der Entscheidung brachte, in die Zirkuskünste einzutauchen. Louis begann seine Ausbildung an der Nationalen Zirkusschule in Châtellerault und schloss seine Ausbildung an der Quebec Zirkusschule in Quebec 2016 ab, wo er sich auf die anspruchsvollen Disziplinen Hoopdiving und Tanztrapez einliess. 2019 trat er dem Team von 7 Fingers bei und fungiert seither al Head of Casting. Hier nutzt er seine Leidenschaft, neue Talente zu entdecken und zu fördern.

www.7fingers.com

Irina Naumenko, Young Stage Jury 2024

Irina Naumenko

Casting Advisor @Cirque du Soleil & Artistin

Irina arbeitet seit über 25 Jahren als Akrobatin in der Unterhaltungsbranche. Im Laufe dieser Zeit hatte sie das Vergnügen, mit einer Vielzahl von Circus- und Unterhaltungsunternehmen zusammenzuarbeiten. Seit fast 16 Jahren arbeitet sie als Soloartistin in Handbalance und als Kontorsionistin sowie als Hauptdarstellerin in verschiedenen Cirque du Soleil-Produktionen (Varekai 2003-2011, Joya 2014-2016, und verschiedene Sonderveranstaltungen). Während ihrer Karriere als Performerin wirkte Irina in zahlreichen Produktionen aller Formen und Grössen rund um den Globus mit. Sie hatte das Privileg, nicht nur als Performerin zu arbeiten, sondern auch als Beraterin und Expertin mitzuarbeiten. So durfte sie aus ihrer Performance-Perspektive wichtige Inputs in die Projekte geben.

Nach einer erfolgreichen Karriere als Circuskünstlerin wechselte Irina in die Rolle der Beraterin in der Casting-Abteilung des Cirque Du Soleil. Die Unterhaltung, insbesondere die Circuskunst, wird immer einen besonderen Platz in ihrem Herzen haben. Sie verfügt über ein grosses Knowhow in diesen Bereichen. Dank ihrer profunden Kenntnisse in der Unterhaltungsbranche, des kreativen Prozesses und der akrobatischen Darbietungen hat sie einen tiefen Einblick in die harte Arbeit der Circusartist:innen.

www.cirquedusoleil.com

Adrian porter Headshot

Adrian Porter 

Leiter der Hochschulausbildung @ National Centre for Circus Arts, London
Vorstandsmitglied FEDEC

Adrian ist derzeit Leiter der Hochschulausbildung am National Centre for Circus Arts in London. Er ist ein ehemaliger Nationalkaderturner, der seit über 25 Jahren die Disziplinen Boden- und Luftakrobatik unterrichtet. Adrian hat sich auf die Disziplinen Hand auf Hand, Russian Swing, Chinesischer Mast und Icarian Games spezialisiert. Er beaufsichtigte die akrobatische Entwicklung von Künstlern für die Millennium Dome Show in London und war Mitverfasser der ersten Version des Foundation Degree Programms am National Centre.

Als Zirkuskünstler hat er seine Vielseitigkeit als Trampolinspringer in der Royal Festival Hall, als Akrobat der Truppe Maison in mehreren britischen Unternehmensshows und bei Projekten als Luftakrobat gezeigt, insbesondere bei Hyperactive von John-Paul Zaccarini. Adrian war mit dem Cirque du Soleil als Cheftrainer auf Tournee und fungierte auch als Choreograf und Dramaturg. Seine freiberufliche Arbeit umfasst die Zusammenarbeit mit der reinen Frauentruppe Mimbre, dem Jugendzirkusprogramm im Roundhouse London und der Abschlussfeier der Paralympics 2012.

Adrian ist Vorstandsmitglied der FEDEC und des Jacksons Lane Theatre in London. Er setzt sich leidenschaftlich für die Entwicklung der nächsten Generation von Zirkusartisten ein.

www.nationalcircus.org.uk

www.fedec.eu

Diana Salles, Young Stage Jury 2024

Diana Salles

Künstlerin, Tänzerin

Diana ist 1996 in São Paulo Brasielien geboren. Ihren ersten Kontakt mit der Kunst hatte sie durch Tanz und Theater, aber schon bald entdeckte sie den Cirkus und entwickelte eine Leidenschaft, die sie dazu brachte, ihn zu ihrem Beruf zu machen. Sie ist Circuskünstlerin, zeitgenössische Tänzerin, Aktivistin und eine stolze Transfrau. Sie schloss 2018 ihr Studium an der Superior School of Circus Arts (ESAC) in Brüssel ab und spezialisierte sich auf Luftakrobatik.

2019 wurde sie am 40. Festival Mondial du Cirque de Demain in Paris mit der Bronzemedaille und dem prestigeträchtigen “Prix de la Ville de Paris” ausgezeichnet. Beim Iberoamerikanischen Zirkusfestival (FIRCO) gewann sie die Silbermedaille und den Publikumspreis und etablierte sich damit als prominente Figur und Schöpferin im zeitgenössischen Circus.

Nachdem sie mit mehreren renommierten Zircusunternehmen in Europa zusammengearbeitet hatte, widmete sich Diana ihrer persönlichen Transformation auf der Bühne. Ihre Soloshow DELUSIONAL brachte ihr den International Bursary Award des Fringe Amsterdam Festivals ein und wurde als berührendes und relevantes Stück gefeiert.

Diana Salles verkörpert eine lebendige Kraft in der Circuskunst, die zum Nachdenken anregt und mit Können, Leidenschaft und Wahrheit Grenzen überschreitet.

https://www.dianasalles.com/

Foto Ian Jenkins

Ian Jenkins

Casting Direktor & Projektentwicklung @ Europa Park, Deutschland
Kreativdirektor Blue Banana Entertainment @Europa Park, Deutschland

Zweimaliger Weltmeister im professionellen Paarlauf und ehemaliger Olympiateilnehmer. Ian hat seine 25-jährige Erfahrung als Künstler genutzt, um mehr als 60 Shows mit unterschiedlichen Stilen für den Europa Park zu kreieren. Ian hat 9 Jahre lang als Unterhaltungsdirektor für den Europa Park gearbeitet und nimmt nun die neue Herausforderung des Europa Parks, Teil des Eröffnungsteams von MACK ONE FRANCE in Frankreich war, jedoch nur 30 Minuten vom Europa Park entfernt ist.  Ian teilt nun seine Zeit zwischen den französischen Kreativbüros und der Kreation und Leitung von Shows für den Europa Park und anderen Shows auf der ganzen Welt als Teil des Blue Banana Entertainment Portfolios. Das Young-Stage-Festival hat vielen hervorragenden Künstlern eine wertvolle Plattform geboten, um ihre Fähigkeit zu zeigen, Kunstfertigkeit mit Kreativität und physischer Exzellenz zu verbinden und mit mehr als 30 Künstlern, die ihre Talente im Europa Park gezeigt haben, wird Ian auch dieses Jahr dafür sorgen, dass dies keine Ausnahme ist.

www.europapark.de

www.bluebananae.com