Cast 2022

14 acts from 12 different nations will rock the stage at YOUNG STAGE in a breathtaking show. On this page you will find all information about the Cast 2022.

Aerial Straps

Clara Laurent (USA, France)

https://www.claralaurent.com


“My number pays homage to an ideal world, one where power is checked and balanced, and where everyone is treated fairly and humanely, while also shining a light on the injustice that pervades our current world. The act is guided by excerpts from the Universal Declaration of Human Rights.”

 

Duo Cyr Wheel

Duo Leole: Leonie Körner & Ole Lehmkuhl (Germany)

https://www.duoleole.de


“The act is about encounters: How do we approach one another as humans? How do we talk to each other? Playful, serious, encroaching? And how did we imagine to meet? Does the conversation we are having represent the one we had layed out in our mind beforehand? Or is it all different?”

 

Chinese Pole

Ron Oppenheimer (USA, Germany)

https://www.ronoppenheimer.com


“During my time at École Nationale de Cirque in Montréal, I lost a lot of people over the course of a year. I was in an incredibly dark place and felt the only way out was to take everything I was feeling and put it into my art. Making this act saved me from that darkness. Making this act helped me personally go through the stages of grief and when I ultimately arrived at the end of the journey, the piece had transformed into an homage to those people who were lost, and a way to experience nostalgic feelings and memories of them with others.”

Slack wire

Antino Pansa (France)

https://www.antinopansa.com


“My act is based on my personal story. I come from a very modest Samaka family, originally from Suriname, who had no idea of art. They didn’t know that you could make a living from the circus. The music in my act is a sort of confession of the happiness of my parents and one of my brothers.  They are happy to see me succeed in my passion.”

 

Aerial Straps

Duo Mico: Caroline Huang (USA) & Maxime Piché-Luneau (Canada)

https://www.instagram.com/duomico


“If we are lying to ourselves about who we are, this negative energy causes us to fight with not only ourselves but our partner. We eventually push them away and out of our lives. It is only when we come to terms with our own reflection and realize who we really are, that we can be at peace with ourselves and others.”

Hand to hand & Icarian games

Duo Ginger Moustache: Sophie Nusbaumer & Calou Rais (Switzerland)

https://www.facebook.com/gingermoustache/


“The perfect day for Sophie would be to sit in a bar with a friend and talk for six hours in a row. She just loves talking. Calou is a bit the opposite…We have used traits that are very close to us in real life and stylized them, exaggerating some aspects of our personality and making them absurd.”

Handstand/Contortion Duo

Angelina & Alexandra (Ukraine)

We are best friends and performing means a lot to us. Nothing brings us so many emotions than when we work on stage. We have been working on stage since we were children and we realized already a long time ago that we want to dedicate our lives to the circus.


New wave of magic

Maxim Voronin (USA, Ukraine, Russland)

Before entering the stage, I always run the act in my head and tell myself, “Well you got this far in this amount of time. Nothing will be better or worse than what you have prepared for in this exact moment, so go out and do your best. And if you fall, then it is your destiny at this moment to learn from.” Performing is my life. I wake up and go to sleep constantly thinking about new ideas, what else I can bring new to the circus world, and what I can do better. To perform on stage, it is like to feel free and happy for me. I get energized from it and I can continue making new things and evolving.


Hand to trapeze

Trio Vertex: Isis Clegg-Vinell, Cornelius Atkinson, Nathan Price (United Kingdom)

https://www.triovertex.com


“Everyone in the circus community struggled during the pandemic, and everyone was so supportive during that time. We wanted to capture that somehow, and began creating material with this idea of “support’” in mind. How people can be there for one another, and how together we can help each other keep going.  “Hand to Trapeze” is the ultimate expression of that idea, it’s a discipline where you rely so heavily on others to hold you, to catch you, and to keep you safe.”

Antipodism & Footjuggling

Pipsa Ilpala (Finland)

https://www.pipsailpala.com


“I’ve dreamed about performing since I was very very young. My family has no artistic or performing background at all so it took me a while to figure out my way into performing.The name of the act VARIS is Finnish and it means “a/the crow“ I had done some projects in Finnish nature earlier and when we started to work on the music we both felt strongly that it belonged to the song. Afterwards we thought that you can hear and see crows around the world, just like circus.”

Hand to hand

Oliver Layher & Kyran Walton (USA)


“Originally when making our act we had the idea of envisioning ourselves in an old circus ring with no one there. Oliver really wants to perform and Kyran simply doesn’t. The key aspects of our act are friendship, curiosity, balance, unity. It’s inspired by traditional and contemporary circus, dance, and movement. It’s a reflection of ourselves and our story together.”

Yo-Yo Performance

Shu Takada (Japan)

http://www.shutakada.com


“My act’s theme is “Ninja”. Ninja were warriors during the age of the Samurai. I would like to bring some of the aesthetics and feelings from that era into my next performance, as there are similarities between my modern yoyo tricks and ancient Japanese weapons and fighting styles.”

Double Korean Cradle

Arctic Ensemble: Minna Pulsa, Orfeo Llewellyn, Linnea Purontaus, Anselmi Kaisanlahti, Ada Forsberg, Pihla Ojala, Eino Kaisanlahti, Armas Lintusaari (Finland)

https://www.arcticensemble.com


“There are always three people having to work together in perfect unison to create a balanced and powerful swing. We have to feel each other’s breath and timing to stay in sync as the two bases are only in contact through the flyer they are holding.”

 

Juggling

Canaval Twins: Florian Canaval & Michael Canaval (Austria)

https://www.canavaltwins.com


“This our our dream job. The possibilities of tricks and how to present them are endless. You always want to get to the next level, and that’s addictive. For this act we have to be in top shape and need to train hard every day.”

Cast 2022

14 Acts aus 12 verschiedenen Nationen werden am YOUNG STAGE in einer atemberaubenden Show die Bühne rocken. Auf dieser Seite finden Sie alle Informationen zum Cast 2022.

Aerial Straps

Clara Laurent (USA, Frankreich)

https://www.claralaurent.com


„Meine Nummer ist eine Hommage an eine ideale Welt, in der die Macht kontrolliert und ausgeglichen wird und in der alle Menschen fair und menschlich behandelt werden, während sie gleichzeitig ein Licht auf die Ungerechtigkeit wirft, die unsere heutige Welt durchdringt. Der Akt orientiert sich an Auszügen aus der Allgemeinen Erklärung der Menschenrechte.“

Duo Cyr Wheel

Duo Leole: Leonie Körner & Ole Lehmkuhl (Deutschland)

https://www.duoleole.de


„Unsere Nummer handelt von Begegnungen. Wie gehen wir als Menschen aufeinander zu? Wie reden wir miteinander? Spielerisch, ernsthaft, eindringlich? Und wie haben wir uns vorgestellt, uns zu treffen? Entspricht das Gespräch, das wir führen, dem das wir uns vorher ausgemalt haben? Oder ist es ganz anders?“

Chinese Pole

Ron Oppenheimer (USA, Deutschland)

https://www.ronoppenheimer.com


„Während meiner Zeit an der École Nationale de Cirque in Montréal habe ich im Laufe eines Jahres viele Menschen verloren. Ich befand mich an einem unglaublich dunklen Ort und hatte das Gefühl, dass der einzige Ausweg darin bestand, alles, was ich fühlte, in meine Kunst einfließen zu lassen. Das Stück zu machen, hat mich aus dieser Dunkelheit gerettet. Das Stück half mir persönlich, die Phasen der Trauer zu durchlaufen, und als ich schließlich am Ende der Reise ankam, hatte sich das Stück in eine Hommage an die Menschen verwandelt, die ich verloren hatte, und in eine Möglichkeit, nostalgische Gefühle und Erinnerungen an sie mit anderen zu teilen.“ 

Slack wire

Antino Pansa (Frankreich)

https://www.antinopansa.com


„Meine Nummer basiert auf meiner persönlichen Geschichte. Ich komme aus einer sehr bescheidenen Samaka-Familie aus Surinam, die keine Ahnung von Kunst hatte. Sie wussten nicht, dass man vom Zirkus leben kann. Die Musik meiner Nummer ist in gewisser Weise ein Geständnis des Glücks meiner Eltern und eines meiner Brüder.  Sie sind glücklich, dass ich mit meiner Leidenschaft erfolgreich bin.“

Aerial Straps

Duo Mico: Caroline Huang (USA) & Maxime Piché-Luneau (Kanada)

https://www.instagram.com/duomico


„Wenn wir uns selbst belügen, wer wir sind, führt negative Energie dazu, dass wir nicht nur mit uns selbst, sondern auch mit unserem Partner kämpfen. Schließlich stoßen wir ihn weg und aus unserem Leben. Nur wenn wir uns mit unserer eigenen Wahrnehmung auseinandersetzen und erkennen, wer wir wirklich sind, können wir mit uns und anderen in Frieden leben.“

Hand to hand & Icarian games

Duo Ginger Moustache: Sophie Nusbaumer & Calou Rais (Schweiz)

https://www.facebook.com/gingermoustache/


„Der perfekte Tag für Sophie wäre, mit einer Freundin in einer Bar zu sitzen und sechs Stunden am Stück zu reden. Sie liebt es einfach zu reden. Calou ist ein bisschen das Gegenteil… Wir haben Eigenschaften verwendet, die uns im wirklichen Leben sehr nahe stehen, und sie stilisiert, indem wir einige Aspekte unserer Persönlichkeit übertrieben und ad absurdum geführt haben.“

Handstand/Contortion Duo

Angelina & Alexandra (Ukraine)

Wir sind beste Freundinnen und das Auftreten bedeutet uns sehr viel. Nichts bringt uns so viele Emotionen, wie wenn wir auf der Bühne arbeiten. Wir arbeiten schon seit unserer Kindheit auf der Bühne und haben schon vor langer Zeit erkannt, dass wir unser Leben dem Zirkus widmen wollen.


New wave of magic

Maxim Voronin (USA, Ukraine, Russland)


Bevor ich die Bühne betrete, gehe ich den Auftritt immer im Kopf durch und sage mir: „Nun, du bist in dieser Zeit so weit gekommen. Nichts wird besser oder schlechter sein als das, worauf du dich in diesem Moment vorbereitet hast, also geh raus und gib dein Bestes. Und wenn du fällst, dann ist es dein Schicksal, aus diesem Moment zu lernen.“ Auftreten ist mein Leben. Ich wache auf und gehe schlafen und denke ständig über neue Ideen nach, was ich noch Neues in die Zirkuswelt einbringen kann und was ich noch besser machen kann. Auf der Bühne zu stehen, ist für mich ein Gefühl von Freiheit und Glück. Es gibt mir Energie, und ich kann weiterhin neue Dinge erfinden und mich weiterentwickeln.

Hand to trapeze

Trio Vertex: Isis Clegg-Vinell, Cornelius Atkinson, Nathan Price (Grossbritanien)

https://www.triovertex.com


„Jeder in der Zirkusgemeinschaft hatte während der Pandemie zu kämpfen, und alle waren in dieser Zeit so hilfsbereit. Wir wollten das irgendwie festhalten und begannen, Material mit dieser Idee der „Unterstützung“ im Hinterkopf zu erstellen. Wie Menschen füreinander da sein können und wie wir uns gegenseitig helfen können, weiterzumachen.  «Hand to Trapeze» ist der ultimative Ausdruck dieses Gedankens. Es ist eine Disziplin, bei der man sich so sehr auf andere verlässt, die einen halten, auffangen und in Sicherheit bringen.“

Antipodism & Footjuggling

Pipsa Ilpala (Finnland)

https://www.pipsailpala.com


„Seit ich sehr jung war, habe ich davon geträumt, aufzutreten. In meiner Familie gibt es keinen künstlerischen oder darstellerischen Hintergrund, deshalb hat es eine Weile gedauert, bis ich meinen Weg zur Performance gefunden habe. Der Name der Nummer VARIS ist finnisch und bedeutet „die Krähe“. Ich hatte schon einige Projekte in der finnischen Natur gemacht, und als wir anfingen, an der Musik zu arbeiten, hatten wir beide das starke Gefühl, dass sie zu dem Lied gehört. Danach dachten wir, dass man Krähen überall auf der Welt hören und sehen kann, genau wie der Zirkus.“

Hand to hand

Oliver Layher & Kyran Walton (USA)


„Ursprünglich hatten wir bei der Entwicklung unserer Nummer die Idee, uns in einer alten Zirkusmanege vorzustellen, in der niemand ist. Oliver will unbedingt auftreten und Kyran einfach nicht. Die Schlüsselaspekte unserer Nummer sind Freundschaft, Neugier, Gleichgewicht und Einigkeit. Es ist inspiriert von traditionellem und zeitgenössischem Zirkus, Tanz und Bewegung. Es ist ein Abbild von uns selbst und unserer gemeinsamen Geschichte.“

Yo-Yo Performance

Shu Takada (Japan)

http://www.shutakada.com


„Das Thema meines Auftritts ist „Ninja „. Ninja waren Krieger zur Zeit der Samurai. Ich möchte etwas von der Ästhetik und dem Gefühl dieser Ära in meinen nächsten Auftritt einfließen lassen, da es Ähnlichkeiten zwischen meinen modernen Yoyo-Tricks und den alten japanischen Waffen und Kampfstilen gibt.“

Double Korean Cradle

Arctic Ensemble: Minna Pulsa, Orfeo Llewellyn, Linnea Purontaus, Anselmi Kaisanlahti, Ada Forsberg, Pihla Ojala, Eino Kaisanlahti, Armas Lintusaari (Finnland)

https://www.arcticensemble.com


„Es sind immer drei Personen, die im perfekten Einklang zusammenarbeiten müssen, um einen ausgewogenen und kraftvollen Schwung zu erzeugen. Wir müssen den Atem und das Timing des anderen spüren, um synchron zu bleiben, da die beiden Fänger nur durch die Flyerinnen, die sie halten, in Kontakt sind.“

Juggling

Canaval Twins: Florian Canaval & Michael Canaval (Österreich)

https://www.canavaltwins.com


„Das ist unser Traumjob. Die Möglichkeiten der Tricks und wie man sie präsentiert, sind endlos. Man will immer die nächste Stufe erreichen, und das macht süchtig. Für diese Performance müssen wir in Topform sein und jeden Tag hart trainieren.“